How to Create a Virtual Data Room - The Basics
Quickly create a customised Virtual Data Room to swiftly navigate the due diligence process and close your deal. Your Virtual Data Room (VDR) will have automatic numbering, watermarking and page-level view tracking enabled by default. Workspace Admins can enable or disable these features to suit your own requirements. In this article you'll learn how to upload documents, create groups, set user-visibility, set folder permissions and invite users into your VDR.

This, is your VDR Homepage. This page shows recent activity in your room, such as newly added, moved or deleted documents. Click the Documents tab to begin.


Upload Documents

Click 'Add Files' to add individual documents or click 'Add Folders' to add entire folders into your workspace.


Select the file(s) or folder(s) you would like to upload and click 'Open'.


When your files have finished uploading, click on a document to open it.


Click close to return to the Folder View.


Create Groups

Click the 'Manage Workspace' tab.


Click the 'Users & Groups' tab.


Click the 'Groups' tab.


Select 'Create a New Group' from the Actions menu on the right.


On the New Group screen you can:

Enter a Group Name
Apply specific Terms and Conditions
Set up Timed Access - Click the Start text field to select a month, day and time you would like the users of Bidder D to have access to your room. Then, pick an End date and time.


Click 'Create Group'.


Note: The system will pre-populate your VDR with the following Groups; Seller, Bidder A, Bidder B and Bidder C.

Set User Visibility

Click the 'User Visibility' tab.


You can tick or untick the boxes corresponding to each group in the matrix. This will determine whether the members of the group on the left, will be visible to the members of the group on the top.


Note: The choices you make on this screen will override the Members Visible setting in the Workspace Settings.||

Click 'Save Settings' to save your settings.


Set Folder Permissions

Next, click the 'Permissions' tab.


On the Folder Permissions screen, you can edit permissions for individual users and groups within this workspace. These permissions can be customised for individual users or groups. This first set of buttons, represents the 'Default Permissions for all Users and Groups'.

Green buttons represent a permission or action a default user has or can perform.
Red buttons represent a permission or action a default user does not have or cannot perform.


Note: If you hover your cursor over a button, Safelink will prompt a message to inform you what default users can or cannot do.



You can set folder permissions for a specific group by clicking the drop down menu. Next, select which group’s permissions you’d like to change.


A second set of buttons are now visible over the first set. Click on a button in this second set to change folder permissions for the group you’ve just selected.


You can set specific folder permissions for an individual user by clicking the drop down menu, typing in this user’s name, and then selecting this user from the list below.


If at any time you are not certain which permissions you are changing, you can hover over a button to prompt a message from the system. This is a hierarchical system; the individual user permission will override the group and the default permission setting.

Invite Users

Click the 'Users & Groups' tab.


Next, click 'Invite another user' or 'Invite Multiple Users' on the 'Actions' menu on the right.


On the user invitation screen, you can choose:

Which level of access or 'Workspace Role' should be applied.
Select which 'group' you would like these users to belong or select 'Let me choose a group for each user' to apply different groups to each user.
Enter the name, email and group of each user.



Click 'Invite' to send an invitation email to these users. The invitation email will contain a link which when clicked, will help guide the user to your workspace. To see a copy of the workspace invitation please click New User Activation Email.


You can see all the users who have access to your workspace on the Workspace Access screen.






View the Apps Available in a Virtual Data Room
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!